McCarthy, Daniel

Item Code:
C. Alan Publications

KraftWerk is a six-movement work showcasing the virtuosic capabilities of both the percussionist and tubist at all times. As usual, McCarthyÕs percussion writing is extremely effective and fun to play, while the tuba writing ranges from beautiful and lyrical to down and dirty. Excellent for an advanced student or faculty recital.

Program Notes

KraftWerk was commissioned by Alison Shaw, professor of percussion at the Michigan State University School of Music and Marty Erickson, professor of tuba at the Pennsylvania State University School of Music. The piece is a series of six short movements, each demonstrating various timbrel and rhythmic characteristics of tuba and percussion. The name KraftWerk refers to the German "techno-funk" group of the same name. The rhythmic precision of this group is likened to the kind of rhythmic animation throughout this piece. The title of each movement represents, in short, the musical fixture of the movement. For example, No. III, "Extensions" features extended tertian harmony while No. VI "Leap Rule" is a highly contrapuntal.

Grade Level: 4
Copyright: 2000
Number of Players: 2
Duration: 13:00

Sample PDF

  • kraftwerk.pdf
  • Watch Video


    Percussion (kick drum, timbales, 2 log drum pitches, 4 toms, suspended cymbal, small tam-tam, gliss gong, bongos, large woodblock, snare drum, metal, marimba (4.3 octaves), vibraphone, xylophone, maraca)
    *Performer is encouraged to substitute other resonant metal instruments for the suspended cymbal, small tam-tam, & gliss gong