Concerto for Saxophone & Wind Symphony


Concerto for Saxophone & Wind Symphony


Hutcheson, Jere

Item Code:
C. Alan Publications

Saxophone Feature

Heroic, plaintive, and energetic describe the three movements of this modern Concerto for Saxophone & Wind Symphony. Written for the modern-day soloist and a band looking for a challenge in contemporary harmonies.

Program Notes

Concerto for Saxophone & Wind Symphony is dedicated to Joseph Lulloff, saxophonnist, and The Michigan State University Wind Symphony, John Whitwell, conductor.

Grade Level: 5
Copyright: 2007
Number of Players: Standard + 1
Duration: 18:00

Listen to Recordings


Flute 1/2/3
Oboe 1/2
English Horn
Soprano Clarinet in Eb
Clarinet in Bb 1/2/3
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Bassoon 1/2

SOLO ALTO SAXOPHONE (doubling Soprano Saxophone in 2nd mvt)

Trumpet in Bb
Horn in F 1/2
Trombone 1
Bass Trombone

String Bass

Percussion 1
(Temple Blocks/Woodblocks, Xylophone, Hi-Hat, Congas, Marimba, Suspended Cymbal, String Drum)

Percussion 2
(Marimba, String Drum, Chimes, Vibraphone, Glockenspiel, Tam-Tam, 3 Suspended Cymbals, Congas, Bongos, High Triangle)

Percussion 3
(Vibraphone, Claves, Log Drum, Ride Cymbal, Congas, 3 Suspended Cymbals)

The percussionists share instruments. For instance, one marimba and one pair of congas (with bongos) is sufficient.