Concerto for Marimba & Wind Ensemble


Concerto for Marimba & Wind Ensemble


Chung, Yiu-kwong

Item Code:
C. Alan Publications

Marimba Feature

This wonderful addition to the increasingly impressive body of marimba concertos consists of the three movements – a Latin-infused Divertimento, a Baroque-inspired Passacaglia ending with a virtuosic fugal solo cadenza, and a propulsive & energetic Burlesque.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the Taiwan Band Association for their 1st Marimba Competition in 2006, Concerto for Marimba and Wind Ensemble consists of three movements. The first movement is a delightful upbeat divertimento occasionally reflecting the Latin-American marimba playing. Using elements of Baroque music as its basis and its inspiration, the second movement is a Passacaglia ending with a challenging marimba cadenza which is a three-part fugue based on the Passacaglia’s main theme. The third movement is a propulsive and energetic Burlesque.

This concerto was premiered by Yun-Ju Chou and the Jouer Band conducted by Francoise Boulanger at the National Concert Hall in Taipei on August 28, 2006.

Grade Level: 5
Copyright: 2011
Number of Players: Standard + 1
Duration: 15:30

Listen to Recordings

Sample PDF

  • chungconcerto-band.pdf
  • Instrumentation

    Flute 1
    Flute 2
    Oboe 1
    Oboe 2
    Bassoon 1
    Bassoon 2
    Clarinet in Bb 1
    Clarinet in Bb 2
    Clarinet in Bb 3
    Bass Clarinet in Bb
    Alto Saxophone 1
    Alto Saxophone 2
    Tenor Saxophone
    Baritone Saxophone

    Horn in F 1/2
    Horn in F 3/4
    Trumpet in Bb 1
    Trumpet in Bb 2
    Trumpet in Bb 3
    Trombone 1
    Trombone 2
    Bass Trombone
    Baritone T.C.

    String Bass

    Solo Marimba (5-octave)

    Timpani (4 drums)
    Percussion 1 (Snare Drum, Slapstick)
    Percussion 2 (Triangle, 4 Concert Toms, Tambourine)
    Percussion 3 (Bass Drum, Suspended Cymbal, Ratchet, Crash Cymbals, Sleigh Bells)
    Percussion 4 (Vibraphone, Bells, Chimes)